Virginia has increased the liability insurance coverage required for vehicles in Virginia.
Required coverage amounts are up from $25,000 to $30,000 for bodily injury to or death and from $50,000 to $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons for policies effective between January 1, 2022, and January 1, 2025. The property insurance requirement is $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others as a result of any one accident.
For policies effective after January 1, 2025, the liability insurance coverage amounts increase to $50,000 in cases of bodily injury to or death of one person, $100,000 in cases of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons from any one accident. Also in 2025, the property insurance requirement will increase to $25,000,
The new law requires that self-insured operators of taxicabs maintain protection against uninsured and underinsured drivers with bodily injury limits of $25,000/$50,000, and property coverage of $20,000, with respect to each motor vehicle.
To purchase license plates and title and register a vehicle in Virginia, a customer must certify the vehicle is covered by the minimum insurance requirements or pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee.
In summary, the new law raises the minimum insurance coverage requirements over the next three years to the following:
|Liability Insurance Coverage Requirements|
|Injury or death of one person||Injury or death of two or more people||Property damage|
|Policies effective Jan. 1, 2022 through Dec. 31, 2024||$30,000||$60,000||$20,000|
|Policies effective on or after Jan. 1, 2025||$50,000||$100,000||$25,000|
Vehicle owners caught driving without insurance or who have not paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee will have their driving and vehicle registration privileges suspended. To reinstate these privileges, they must pay a $600 noncompliance fee, file a financial responsibility certificate with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles for three years, and pay a reinstatement fee.